Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

We Put the ‘Mental’ in Fundamentalism

leave a comment »

‘The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge; fools despise wisdom and instruction.’  ~ Proverbs 1:7

I ran across a sad posting on a sad blog this morning that initially had me quite vexed.  However, as I posted in the comments section, I am really not surprised–we are conceived in sin and enemies of God.  That blogger is only acting according to their (and our) nature.  Ultimately, the post saddened me and elicited a sense of pity in the writer and their amen corner (as it were).  I will pray for them.

Here is some of what they wrote:

The more I interact with Christian fundamentalists, either in church or on the Internet, the more I become convinced it is a disease of the mind, or at least a self-replicating meme or “mind virus.” Having been a Christian fundamentalist myself, I can honestly say that you aren’t in your right mind when you are caught in the throes of religious fundamentalism.

I would ask that you pray for them, as well–that point of view has more adherents than we may like to admit and it is gaining steam day by day.

Written by ninepoundhammer

February 16, 2008 at 7:24 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

