Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

It Could Be A Drunk With a Traffic Cone

with 8 comments

‘But he was wounded for our transgressions; he was crushed for our iniquities; upon him was the chastisement that brought us peace, and with his stripes we are healed.’   ~ Isaiah 53:5

Folks use some very funny search engine terms used to get to my blog.  Here are a few of the stranger ones:

  • ‘poopy babes’ (I am praying that is just a misspelling.)

  • katutura tour (?)

  • parachute heather ferguson  (Is this an adjective or a command?)

  • ron paul farmers  (Sound like my kind of guys!)

  • does hippo’s have a tail?  (Yes–and probably better grammar.)

  • it is better to live in the desert  (Probably a bedouin propagandist.)

 

 

 

  • I was telling Marian, Hannah, Ashlee, and Jamison about my idea for a reality show that would examine the plague of laziness in our culture.  I would call it, American Idle.

  • They say that knowledge is power. I used to think so, but now I know that they mean Money. ~ Lord Byron

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Stories such as the following will become increasingly common I am afraid as an inevitable result of the perversion of the definition of marriage. After all, if society insists that ‘love’ and consent are all that is required to constitute a legitimate marriage, where will it end?

 

At first sight they look like an ordinary couple, strolling through the park with their child and their dog. But when the two adults hug each other their physical similarities are unmistakable. They have the same pronounced nose, the same blue-green eyes, and the same thin lips. Patrick S. and Susan K. are brother and sister. They are an incestuous couple.’

 

 

 

 

 

  • A town in South America is living in fear after several sightings of a ‘creepy gnome’ that locals claim stalks the streets at night.’ I really don’t see the big deal here. Folks in Ireland have been dealing with this sort of thing for centuries.

Quebe Sisters – Goodbye to the Red River Valley

 

Q: ‘I’d like to follow up on their refusal to talk about the dollar, if I could. I mean, we’re in a kind of a bad situation here, when OPEC says the reason for $105 or $106 a barrel of oil is the falling value of the dollar — and you won’t address that issue. Where do we go to find out who is right?’

Dana Perino, White House Press Secretary: ‘Wendell, I’m under strict instructions, and have been from the beginning, to not talk about the dollar, and I’m not going to get fired to satisfy your question.’

  • Stryper is the only Christian heavy metal band that I know of to break through into the mainstream.  During my senior year of high school (1989) they were a staple on MTV–back when they actually played music videos.  I’m not sure whether they read the entire Bible, though. 

 

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i still have a “To hell with the devil” t-shirt somewhere.

    Jackasic

    March 12, 2008 at 9:57 pm

  2. POD went mainstream, TobyMac went mainstream…along with the rest of dc Talk when they all went solo, Switchfoot is mainstream, Creed went back and forth, and there are others…but perhaps this part of your discussion is best for another weblog!!! (hint hint, plug plug)
    btw, i need more suggestions

    Eric

    March 12, 2008 at 11:15 pm

  3. Eric: I defer to you when it comes to contemporary Christian music. From what you wrote, there appear to be quite a few mainstream Christian heavy metal/ rock bands. However, in my defense, I did insert the caveat that Stryper was the only band ‘that I know of’ to hit the mainstream. So, my ignorance has once again saved me!

    Besides, I wouldn’t know mainstream if it hit me upside the head. I stopped being hip somewhere around 1992. 🙂 (Is Huey Lewis still popular?)

    ninepoundhammer

    March 13, 2008 at 8:36 am

  4. Mary Ann busted for some Mary Jane. What is this world coming to? 😀

    Patricia Calderon

    March 13, 2008 at 10:50 am

  5. That little gnome man IS creepy!!! Who is Huey Lewis? 😉

    Ashlee

    March 13, 2008 at 3:22 pm

  6. 1992….i was 8

    2obtuse4obscurity

    March 13, 2008 at 4:08 pm

  7. well, for the last 3 months at least

    2obtuse4obscurity

    March 13, 2008 at 4:09 pm

  8. Ummm…I don’t know whether to be flatered or scared. I am not a big fan of heights, so if anyone was getting any ideas…
    and to be honest…I’m a little creeped out!

    Heather

    March 17, 2008 at 8:16 pm


Leave a Reply

