Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

Boo-Ya!!

with 8 comments

Since I believe virtually everything I read on the Inter-Web, I thought that I would turn to my old, trusted cyber-friend to lend me a hand in a debate I have had of late with my wife and friends (et tu, Ashlee?).  The issue at hand revolves around exactly when, during their preparation, are eggs considered scrambled?  I hold that the scrambling takes place prior to their introduction to the frying pan while the other (incorrect) side of the dispute argues that the scrambling manifests itself during the cooking portion of the endeavor.

Ladies and Gentlemen, Wikipedia:

The eggs are scrambled or beaten in a container with a whisk, fork, or (in many Asian countries or households) chopsticks to blend the egg white and yolk into a homogeneous liquid.  (Emphasis mine.)

I rest my case.

(And I told you so.)

[NB: The above post is tongue-in-cheek and meant to be a fun needling of my pals.  So, please don’t anybody get your feelings hurt!]

Written by ninepoundhammer

May 14, 2008 at 1:17 pm

Posted in Silly

Tagged with

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You gloat too soon and hoist yourself on your own, well, egg-scrambler.

    The quote specifically says, “scrambled or BEATEN in a container.” The original argument leveled against you was that “eggs are not scrambled, but they are BEATEN in the container before they are scrambled in the pan.”

    If I recall correctly, you denied that “beating” is correct, and that scrambled was the ONLY term that was proper. What your quote proves is that BOTH terms are acceptable, which simply means that we were all wrong in one sense (our terms were correct), while right in another (we were wrong to limit what is correct to one term alone).

    We have a clear cut case of “pop” v. “soda” or even, “coke.” In other words, separate terms referring to the same process.

    Scrambled is a term that bears equivocal meanings (in the container, in the pan) as much as “fried egg” is a term that bears equivocal meanings, depending on the manner and duration in which one fries the egg (e.g. “over easy” v. “scrambled” or even, “omelette”).

    I might also add that the Wiki entry for “omelette” says this:

    “An omelette (alternately “omelet”) is a preparation of beaten egg cooked with butter or oil in a frying pan, usually folded around a filling such as cheese, vegetables, meat (always ham), or some combination of the above. Gourmet cook Julia Child once described an omelette as soft-cooked scrambled eggs wrapped in an envelope of firmly-cooked scrambled eggs.”

    Now if you care to deny the use of “beaten” as well as the obvious reference to cooked eggs as “scrambled” by the eminent Julia Child you may do so, but note well that you are rejecting the same source of authority you chose to cite, as well as a well-respected chef.

    May your case rest in peace.

    Joshua

    May 14, 2008 at 1:36 pm

  2. I have a different recollection, Joshua. I do equate scrambling an egg with beating an egg–they are the same thing by different terms. If I gave the impression that I don’t believe beating an egg is the same as scrambling it, I did not intend to because, actually, I believe they are synonymous. My bone of contention was with where/ when eggs are considered ‘scrambled.’ As the Wiki article mentions, scrambling is done in the bowl, which was/is my position.

    As for the omelette section, you will notice that Mrs Child described the omelette as being comprised of ‘scrambled’ eggs, i.e., soft-cooked and firmly-cooked. An omelette, then, is made from scrambled eggs. So, I reckon I interpret her comments differently from you and stand by my opinion.

    Be that as it may, my post was written tongue-in-cheek, so I hope it comes across as such.

    ninepoundhammer

    May 14, 2008 at 2:21 pm

  3. I bet you posted that on wikipedia under a pseudonym

    rachelchris

    May 14, 2008 at 3:31 pm

  4. What about those of us who are lazy and don’t even bother scrambling/beating in a bowl and just break the eggs in the pan and swish it around? 😉

    Christi

    May 14, 2008 at 4:09 pm

  5. It’s not scrambled eggs until there’s cheddar cheese somewhere in there.

    Patricia Calderon

    May 14, 2008 at 8:28 pm

  6. Wow. A whole post on scrambled eggs. Wow!

    Kierstyn

    May 14, 2008 at 9:12 pm

  7. I really feel that “scrambled eggs” must be stirred around and broken during the cooking process to be called scrambled. Otherwise they are some sort of custard or omelette (does anyone else think there are just way too many letters in “omelette”?).

    slackerman

    May 15, 2008 at 2:00 pm

  8. Matt,

    I saw your tongue-in-cheek and “turned my own cheek” in the above post (I too hoped it would be clear, but lest it was not, for certain it now is so).

    If you can’t make an omelette without breaking a few eggs (actually),
    You can’t perform your jokes without breaking a few legs (metaphorically).

    Joshua

    May 16, 2008 at 8:20 am


Leave a Reply

