Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

Apocalypse Wow

with 2 comments

‘And I looked, and behold, a pale horse! And its rider’s name was Death, and Hades followed him. And they were given authority over a fourth of the earth, to kill with sword and with famine and with pestilence and by wild beasts of the earth.’  ~ Apocalypse 6:8

 

It has been my practise (at least it has been my intention) to learn from my mistakes and apply that wisdom gained from failure.  Well, in the past week I have benefitted from a boatload of wisdom in my pursuit of becoming Farmer Brown.  In the past seven days I have lost to Death’s bony grip 994 of the 1,000 worms purchased for my vermicomposting project (I let the bin get too wet and they drowned–yes, drowned) and yesterday I discovered that 10 of my broiler chickens–that is 100% for those playing the home game–suffer from ascites and will need to be euthenised this weekend.  (The egg layers are fine.  Egg countdown is T-minus 3.5 months.)

Still, I know how to mitigate the aforementioned events from occuring again; there is no guarantee against repetition but, again, I am a bit wiser and I know better now how to go about things.  I believe these events illustrate why I have such a high view of tradition.  There is nothing new under the sun; our forefathers endured the same problems and obstacles in agriculture and animal husbandry that I have met with and, thankfully, many have passed that wisdom down through the years for our benefit.  The addition of the Inter-Web has exponentially increased the availability (and verification) of that wisdom, allowing us to benefit therefrom.

I am thankful for those who walked before us.

Written by ninepoundhammer

May 16, 2008 at 7:21 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Lord giveth, and the Lord taketh away. Blessed be the name of the Lord.

    Joshua

    May 16, 2008 at 8:11 am

  2. My condolances. Hopefully by the time I aquire land in which to start my chicken and worm crop, you’ll be able to give me all the advice I need.

    Jacob

    May 16, 2008 at 11:36 am


Leave a Reply

