Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

High Culture in the Bayou City

with 4 comments

As part of our Christ-mas presents from last year, Ashlee’s parents treated us, her brothers, and their girlfriends to the Pink Martini concert in Houston this weekend.  I did not spend much time in the Downtown Arts Scene when I was growing up in Houston.  (Although, as my brother-in-law–who moved to Houston a couple of years ago–has told me, since I grew up outside the Loop, it wasn’t real Houston.)  Add to that my gross disdain for the hoity-toity lifestyle and general inability to show any ‘class’ in an upper crust setting, and we had the makings of an embarrassing evening.  However, the crowd at Jones Hall ranged from the Power Set in their $2,000 suits and trophy wives to Joe Schmo in a pair of ironed Wranglers; so, being the median, I fit right in.  (I of course had on khakis and a generous amount of Dacron in the form of my ubiquitous blue blazer.  Pure Style.)

Pink Martini was backed by the Houston Symphony Orchestra, a treat by itself.  PM’s style is difficult to classify; they consist, basically, of a hodge-podge of Ivy League eggheads from Portland, Oregon who can play the heck out of their instruments, turn a wonderful phrase, and generally enjoy having a good time.  (At times, it seemed as if they should be paying us to be there!)  I am more apt to be found drinking cheap beer to the sounds of Merle Haggard and Willie Nelson than nodding my head in time with songs sung in Egyptian and Italian.  But there I was.  The part of me that is drawn to Steely Dan found a friend in Pink Martini.  In sum: it’s just great music.  And eclectic.  Very, very eclectic.

I’m feeling very cosmopolitan.

Here is a great sampling of Pink Martini.  Do yourself a favour and spend about 10 minutes of your time in audio paradise.  (Think of it as an investment.)

 

Una Notte a Napoli

 

Hey, Eugene

Written by ninepoundhammer

May 25, 2008 at 4:50 pm

Posted in Music

Tagged with , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lounge jazz, there is your classification 😉

    Jackasic

    May 25, 2008 at 5:25 pm

  2. That encompasses only a portion of their repertoire, Brandon. The two videos I posted don’t really do them justice; you would really have to listen to their entire catalogue (or attend a concert) to get an accurate representation.

    Suffice it to say–they are very good and I highly recommend them.

    ninepoundhammer

    May 25, 2008 at 6:56 pm

  3. Don’t be knockin’ the trophy wives. That’s my plan B if this job thing doesn’t work out. 😉

    Patricia Calderon

    May 25, 2008 at 8:52 pm

  4. I liked Hey Eugene!

    Mawmaw

    May 27, 2008 at 12:52 pm


Leave a Reply

