Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

Dead Chickens Walking

with one comment

‘…I am not praying for the world but for those whom you have given me, for they are yours.’  ~ John 17:9b

  • Remember that scene in ‘Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade’ when Indy stumbled upon a book-burning rally?

 

  • To-day marks the end of the line for my broilersAsk not for whom the bell tolls, chicken.  It tolls for thee.

 

  • As with all fallible men, I do not agree with everything Mark Driscoll has to say but, conversely, a great deal of what he espouses appeals to me (his devotion to sound doctrine is to be greatly admired).  For example, I am very much in step with his call for Christian men to return to a biblical masculinity; yet, I take issue with his worship style and his ’embracing’ of culture as necessary to spreading the gospel.  To be sure, he has no dearth of critics: ‘Mark Driscoll, the chest-thumping, LA-dressing, pastor of Mars Hill Church must be feeling the heat from the current of criticism that’s warming his backside.’

 

IF IT BE HERESY, LET US MAKE THE MOST OF IT!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Poor Jerry, I remember those days when we endured his politickz.

    I saw the chalcedon blog on Driscoll right before I left for Seattle. Unfortunately I did not get to witness Driscoll speak, but I did get to go to one of the Mars Hill campuses. I agree with you and Chris Ortiz that Driscoll’s theology is lacking on a few points. Then I came back to see an interview with Mark Dever (see below). The ranks of the Reformed may be together on the Doctrines of Grace, but on much else there seems to be great diversity. Such diversity is not inspiring to me, though I hope continued interaction will sharpen what poor thinking remains intact.

    (http://theologica.blogspot.com/2008/05/stezter-interviews-dever.html#links)

    Joshua

    May 31, 2008 at 12:03 pm


Leave a Reply

