Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

Walking On the Writing Side of Me

with 8 comments

‘Fret not yourself because of evildoers; be not envious of wrongdoers!  For they will soon fade like the grass and wither like the green herb.’ ~ Psalm 37:1, 2

 

The Bible tells us to eschew despairing when evil abounds and the wicked prosper.  Yet, that is something I struggle with mightily.  A timely example presented itself last night as I was leaving the softball complex after our game.  I was greeted in the parking lot by the ubiquitous teeth-rattling thump-thump-thump of what some (misguided) people call ‘music’; I recognise it as unadulterated noise.  The college students tailgating in the parking lot were, apparently, in a giving mood and decided to share their cacophonous activities with the entire park population.

As if that weren’t annoying in and of itself, the audio assault was accompanied by some of the most profane lyrics I have ever heard.  Fortunately, one of the party-goers six year-old daughters was present and able to enjoy the festivities as well.  It was maddening.  Maddening.  Add to that the frustration I feel each season as we run down the scheduled opponents and find several examples of double entendre and outright profanity in the team names.  It is enough to make me want to stop participating; I certainly do not want to expose my wife and children to that nonsense.

I temper my frustration with the knowledge that my situation pales in comparison to the pagan culture the early Christians suffered through in Rome.  Still, it is quite disheartening to say the least.

 

  • Funny search engine terms used to find my blog:
  1. examples of name calling propaganda  [Oh, I’ve got a few…]
  2. r l dabney dancing  [Would the good reverend be caught dead doing such a thing?]
  3. dr. phil Fernandez  [Please call your office.]
  4. the day merle haggard stole my pen  [Not as bad as when Yanni egged my house.] 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Victory Church is a small building that went up on Highway 30 a couple of years ago.  We pass it every Sunday (in fact, I pass it every work day) and we have often wondered what its ‘story’ is (the sign reads that it is UPCI) so I looked it up on the Inter-Web.  It appears to have much in common with ‘Mainstream Christendom’ to-day.  From their web site: ‘One of the many quotes that you will hear from the pulpit and now from the pews is “If you will do your best, God will do the rest.”’   [UPDATE: Please be sure to read the comment section below for further discussion and clarification of this post.]

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • The man who designed the Pringles can died recently and was buried—in a Pringles can.

 

 

 

  • If the Church would have refused to cede its prerogatives to the State lo, these many years, we would probably not be facing crises such as this. 

 

 

 

  • One of the things that bothers me most about Rick Warren is his use of several translations of the Bible, choosing the one that best allows him to eisegete his agenda best.  Notice how many different versions he uses in this rebuttal of an article critical of his ministry.

 

 

 

  • It’s not alarmist to think that at some point America could succumb to overt military regimentation. But it should be understood that from the perspective of the Founders — particularly the Anti_Federalists — we’re already living under a species of martial law, one that is generally quite mild but capable of intermittent outbursts of terrifying violence.’ 

 

To-day’s 1980’s Moment is brought to you by Psychedelic Furs:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Written by ninepoundhammer

June 3, 2008 at 10:20 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A story for ye:
    One of my brothers was at a wedding reception a while back. Said reception contained a dance as well as the typical cake stuff and whatever else people normally do. My brother and his wife, not being huge dancing buffs, accepted their role of watching their friend’s 2-3 year old daughter while they went to dance a few dances. This was an easy job for them as the little-un was very quiet and subdued until one particular song came on. As soon as “Low” by Flo Rida featuring T-Pain came on, this young girl went nuts. She stood up in and starting singing along with the “apple bottom jeans…” and started dancing around. Kind of alarming eh? If you aren’t sure, check the lyrics here:
    http://www.completealbumlyrics.com/lyric/131890/Flo+Rida+-+Low.html

    em

    June 3, 2008 at 11:37 am

  2. I think I get the gist of your story except for a few things: I have absolutely no idea what ‘Low’, Flo Rida, T-Pain, or apple bottom jeans are.

    I am so very unhip these days.

    ninepoundhammer

    June 3, 2008 at 11:52 am

  3. iz o k me fa rend. i wuhl cher me luv no how.

    em

    June 3, 2008 at 12:18 pm

  4. you misunderstood Victory Churches ideaology… read thier beliefs section

    it says …

    “About Sin and Salvation: Everyone has sinned and needs salvation. Salvation comes by grace through faith based on the atoning sacrifice of Jesus Christ. Our basic and fundamental doctrine shall be the Bible standard of full salvation, which is repentance, baptism in water by immersion in the name of Jesus for the remission of sins, and the baptism of the Holy Ghost with the initial sign of speaking with other tongues as the Spirit gives utterance. (Romans 3:23-25; 6:23; Ephesians 2:8-9; John 3:3-5; Acts 2:38; I Peter 3:20,21; Mark 16:16; Titus 3:5)”

    Also
    “About Christian Living: As Christians we are to love God and others. We should live a holy life inwardly and outwardly, and worship God joyfully. The supernatural gifts of the Spirit, including healing, are for the church today. (Mark 12:28-31; II Corinthians 7:1; Hebrews 12:14; I Corinthians 12:8-10)”

    Indeed much of mainstream christianity has the ideaology you speak of, but not this church.

    thanks and God Bless!

    Rory Chance

    June 4, 2008 at 10:31 am

  5. Rory Chance:
    Your point is well-taken inasmuch as I found much on the church’s website with which I agree (I did, in fact, read the statements of faith in their entirety). The flip-side of that is that there is much I disagree with, such as credo-baptism/ immersion, spiritual gifts (I tend to lean toward a Partial Cessationist view), speaking in tongues as a sign of saving faith, the synergistic view of conversion, and the ‘God helps those who help themselves’ theme which, I state again, is sadly prevalent in the Church. I would say that ‘God SAVES those who CANNOT SAVE themselves’ is more accurate. In this specific case, my edit might read: ‘Do your best and it is still not good enough for God–He does it all.’

    That being said, I would not presume to stand in judgement as to the efficacy or accuracy of the churchmembers’ professions of faith. I was merely addressing a specific issue and have no reason to believe that the folks at Victory Church are anything other than what they profess to be–Bible-believing Christians. My post was aimed at that specific strain of thought, not the people. I simply take issue with certain aspects of the statements of faith.

    If I have misunderstood the point of that quote I took from the church’s website, I apologise.

    I appreciate your comment and the friendly tone in which it was written.

    ninepoundhammer

    June 4, 2008 at 10:55 am

  6. no problem or offence,

    i my opinion the statement “Do your Best and God will do the rest” doesnt speak towards salvation but of works. Quite simply much in modern christianity promotes a paradigm of lazy christianity in which people feel as if their effort in spiritual matters is made satisfactory by attendance to services and charitable giving. In reality faith ought to stain every part of the fabric of christian life, including attitudes and actions. Simply put we ought to present God with our best, and certainly he will return the effort.

    Certainly your thought process is not without merit, but i suspect there might have been a better example available that was more fitting contextually.

    James said faith without works is dead… i find that the statement is actually reflective of scripture and not contrary to it.

    As for your disagreement with the doctrines of Victory Church…It would be an interesting conversation should you wish to email me.

    also… I do not belong to Victory Church, although their doctrinal beliefs are also mine.

    Rory Chance

    June 4, 2008 at 3:56 pm

  7. Rory – I don’t get this, “i my opinion the statement “Do your Best and God will do the rest” doesnt speak towards salvation but of works. Quite simply much in modern christianity promotes a paradigm of lazy christianity in which people feel as if their effort in spiritual matters is made satisfactory by attendance to services and charitable giving. In reality faith ought to stain every part of the fabric of christian life, including attitudes and actions. Simply put we ought to present God with our best, and certainly he will return the effort.”
    I agree with the assessment that a lot of people believe in the time-card mentality of Christianity. Obviously, this is not how we are called to behave. However, even if the statement, “Do your best and God will do the rest” is about works, how is that valid? Are we called to do our best or are we called to be Christ-like? Speaking for myself, if I merely hold myself to my own standard of doing my best, that seems to accept being a sinner. If I were to use a statement like that, it might better be, “Be like Christ and God will be Glorified”. If I say, it is ok for me to do my best, thus using myself as the measuring stick, I am seemingly putting myself into an anthropocentric view. I’d prefer to use Christ as the measuring stick and maintain my theocentric view.
    Just my thoughts

    em

    June 4, 2008 at 11:28 pm

  8. P.S. please don’t take my frankness or lack of formalities as being rude or impolite. I’m pleased you came here to discuss this matter! (ninepoundhammer and a few of the others that peruse his blog would certainly assure of my less than formal nature being harmless if I come off harsh)

    em

    June 4, 2008 at 11:30 pm


Leave a Reply

