Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

Y Because We Like You

with 8 comments

‘I will be his father, and he will be my son. When he does wrong, I will punish him with the rod of men, with floggings inflicted by men. But my love will never be taken away from him…’  ~ II Samuel 7:14-15a

 

The news has by now travelled far and wide but, for those yet unaware, I relish the opportunity to announce that we are expecting a son!  I can say in all sincerity that I would have been just as overjoyed to discover the next addition to our family lacked a Y chromosome; still, though I would have loved another daughter just as much, I feel a bit…different about our impending arrival.  

It is a near universal truth that men desire sons made in their image to carry forth the family name and legacy.  Admittedly, though I would have been overjoyed at the prospect of expanding our collection of pink accoutrement (and hope to again in the future, truth be told!) I am very much enamoured with the idea of welcoming Thomas Jackson into the fold.  He will be called Jackson, after one of my Christian–and Southern–heroes.  My prayer is that he will grow to be a godly man and not take after his father in all of the bad ways.

It is difficult to fathom an additional member around the family hearth; yet, as I recall, I had similar troubles coalescing my thoughts around Gracie Mae.  However, knowing the joy she has brought to our lives, I have every reason to look forward to November.  The ‘New Normal’ as the Andersons describe it.

Fatherhood is much like having a wolf by the ears; it is both exhilarating and utterly frightening.  And one heck of a ride!

 

People smile and tell me I’m the lucky one.
And we’ve just begun, think I’m gonna have a son.
He will be like she and me, as free as a dove,
conceived in love, the sun is gonna shine above.

And even though we ain’t got money,
I’m so in love with you honey,
Everything will bring a chain of love.
And in the mornin’ when I rise,
you bring a tear of joy to my eyes
and tell me, everything, is gonna be alright.  ~ Kenny Loggins, Danny’s Song

 

 

  • It seems that a former College Station city councilman made it big—he was featured in the ‘Headlines’ portion of the To-night Show with Jay Leno.

 

 

 

  • DO NOT BE DECEIVED: CO2 and water vapour are NOT poisoning our atmosphere nor causing global warming! Those saying so are pushing Junk Science.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To-day’s 1980’s Moment is brought to you by: Europe

 

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations 🙂

    Eric

    June 24, 2008 at 12:31 am

  2. I am thrilled you all are having ason and Gracie Maye a brother.

    rachelchris

    June 24, 2008 at 4:08 am

  3. I think sons are great! Even if they aren’t exactly made in their daddy’s image. 😉

    Janelle

    June 24, 2008 at 12:01 pm

  4. Congrats Matt!

    Jacob

    June 24, 2008 at 2:31 pm

  5. Matt, I think it is funny you say, “The news has by now travelled far and wide…”. Exactly how fast does news about a small-time chicken farmer’s family living 30 minutes away from a stop light travel? Darn the inter-web and its distortion of former reality!
    If I’m confusing…this is my way of saying congratulations on the Mrs. bearing a son! I wonder what will happen first, him getting married or you finishing the fence…

    em

    June 25, 2008 at 11:09 am

  6. It’s all falling perfectly into place just as I planned it: One day my grandsons and I will complete my fence side by side. (And it will look great!)

    ninepoundhammer

    June 25, 2008 at 1:05 pm

  7. Eric Manthei, you made me laugh out loud!!! Good stuff guys.

    Hannah

    June 25, 2008 at 2:36 pm

  8. Just read the Bible verse at the top… LOL!!!! So true though, so true! Congratulations! Boys are wonderful, and I think, a tad bit easier than girls. At least at first. We can all compare notes when our children enter the youth group…..

    Kierstyn

    June 27, 2008 at 4:14 pm


Leave a Reply

