Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

Those Fine Eight Beats

with one comment

‘Now his older son was in the field, and as he came and drew near to the house, he heard music and dancing.’ ~ Luke 15:25

 

I left work early yesterday (that’s right, Kev: Comp Time!) and, at the end of an uneventful three-hour trek up Interstate 45, found myself at the doorstep of my in-laws, where the girls have been since Sunday evening.  Long drives tend to sap my energy so my first activity was little more than watching Gracie Mae swim with Manna (her grandmother) in the pool from the comfort of the pool chair (with a room temperature Shiner Bock close at hand).

Later that evening, we packed up the plantation and rallied at the Dallas Arboretum for their summer concert series featuring one of my favourites, Asleep at the Wheel.  I absolutely love their tightly-played and enthusiastically delivered brand of Western Swing, so I was in hog heaven as we sat on the sloped lawn eating homemade chicken salad sandwhiches (not as good as Marian’s!) and tipping back bottles of chilled Spaten and Heineken.  Good stuff.

In spite of the great show, I think my favourite part of the evening was during the encore as I held Gracie Mae on my shoulders and she clapped and laughed wildly to their rendition of ‘Cherokee Maiden‘.  It just doesn’t get much better than that.

(Jackson, are you paying attention?)

 

 

Written by ninepoundhammer

June 27, 2008 at 10:17 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like fun! Now, hurry home… we miss the Lees!!

    Kierstyn

    June 27, 2008 at 4:14 pm


Leave a Reply

