Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

You Don’t Know Me

leave a comment »

‘Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.’ ~ II Corinthians 5:17

I had the chance to visit with some old high school buddies yesterday, many of whom I have not seen in nearly twenty years.  In addition to the opportunity to introduce our families, we were able to sit in the cool of the evening and catch up on our lives and reminisce about old times.  (That is the part that makes me nervous.)

One of my favourite anecdotes is that regarding Francis of Assisi.  He was quite the reveler, drunkard, and womaniser prior to his conversion to Christianity.  Years afterward, upon returning home, a former ‘lady friend’ of his sneaked up behind him and whispered in his ear, ‘Francis, it is I!’  His simple, yet theologically pregnant response was, ‘Ah, but it is not I.’ 

I find a great deal of solace in the account.  I usually find myself sitting on the edge of my seat praying that my old time buddies don’t bring up some of the stupid things I/ we used to do.  Certainly, Ashlee and I have no secrets between us; still I am embarrassed enough to not want those things brought up in front of her (or, heaven forbid, my kids!).

My situation is not unique to me; I can envision Paul sitting around with some of his rabbinical school pals just hoping no one said, ‘Hey, you remember that time we stoned those Christians outside Jerusalem?!  Good times, good times!’  But, as Paul understood, it is important to remember what he wrote to the Corinthians: When we are converted by the Holy Ghost, we are no longer the object of wrath we once were.  God has made us new!

Rather than suffer anxiously on the razor’s edge in anticipation of the retelling of some bonehead incident from years gone by, I should use such an opportunity to draw the contrast between the Old and the New Man and say, ‘Ah, but it is not I!’ 

 

You give your hand to me

And then you say, ‘Hello.’

I can hardly speak

My heart is beating so.

And anyone can tell.

You think you know me well.

But you don’t know me.

Written by ninepoundhammer

July 5, 2008 at 8:31 am

Leave a Reply

