Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

South Ossetia on My Mind

with 8 comments

What do I gain if, humanly speaking, I fought with beasts at Ephesus? If the dead are not raised, “Let us eat and drink, for tomorrow we die.”  ~ I Corinthians 15:32

 

 

Funny search engine terms used to find my blog:

 

         a farmers love wedding ceremony reading [I love those hayseed nuptials.]

         midget tax collector in bible  [Hey, at least he wasn’t poisonous!]

         what wine goes with fried chicken [Why a 1965 Colonel Sanders, of course.]

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • In an effort to assist those of you who may be planning on buying me a Christ-mas present but think that I am a difficult to buy for, here is a suggestion. 

 

 

 

‘The fundamental basis of this nation’s law was given to Moses on the Mount. The fundamental basis of our Bill of Rights comes from the teachings which we get from Exodus and St. Matthew, from Isaiah and St. Paul. I don’t think we emphasize that enough these days. If we don’t have the proper fundamental moral background, we will finally wind up with a totalitarian government which does not believe in rights for anybody except the state.’  ~ Harry Truman.  (Where the dropping of an atom bomb on women and children fits in is still a mystery–ed.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • The beast, dubbed the Montauk Monster after the Long Island resort where it was discovered, has a hairless, leathery body, sharp teeth and what appears to be a beak.’ 

You have the right to remain McSilent…

Written by ninepoundhammer

August 12, 2008 at 7:08 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. in liew of the shirt for christmas, I thought I would get you a cerified TFH. here is a picture for referance 😉

    Jackasic

    August 13, 2008 at 7:02 am

  2. Oh, GROSS! I was trying to eat my breakfast till I saw that dog monster thing. And I was doing ok with breakfast, just trying to read the article, not looking too hard at the picture you know till I read about the guy who took it home. UGHHH!!

    Beth

    August 13, 2008 at 7:51 am

  3. @Jackasic: I’ll just ask the same question I ask others–Why do you believe the moon landing? Because you saw it on t.v.?

    ninepoundhammer

    August 13, 2008 at 9:19 am

  4. because I have seen the physical evidence and for me it is not beyond belief that it was possible. I am also not a conspiracy guy, I don’t think humans can keep a secret that long. We just ain’t that unified. There was no real gain to continue the myth, if it was a fake.

    The other side is that my brother does digital effects in Hollywood and to fake those scenes was not possible back then. On the other front, my father worked in supper computer from 62 on and again, the technology was better to land on the moon than to fake it. He dealt a lot with imaging and engineering, so he was pretty well connected to see if it was a fake.

    sorry, but this isn’t fake: http://www.spaceref.com/telescopes/images/image015.jpg

    Jackasic

    August 13, 2008 at 10:48 pm

  5. Brandon: I am sure I’ve seen the same ‘physical evidence’ as you and, unless you were actually on the moon yourself, I would imagine it consists of the same photographs, television footage, and ‘specimens’ that are available to the general public.

    As for the ‘conspiracy theory’ charge, that is always an easy way of trying to delegitimise another’s argument out of hand, akin to how calling someone a ‘racist’ or a ‘Nazi’makes one the ‘winner’ of an argument in modern discourse. The fact is, there ARE conspiracies out there. One of the most recent, of course, being the 9-11 attacks. NINETEEN people–at least–carried out those attacks. I would imagine that they worked in concert–or conspired–in order to carry it out. That would be a conspiracy. (Not to mention the JFK assassination, Gulf of Tonkin Incident, Mexican War, Fort Sumter, Tilden Affair, etc., ad infinitum.)

    I also find it difficult to believe that we could have the technology to transport man and machine to the moon (and return them)–and not have the technology to fake the photographs and video (a la ‘Capricorn One’–a movie about a fake landing on Mars by the U.S.). Stalin faked photographs all the time back in the 1930’s. (By the way, the photo you linked to could EASILY have been orchestrated; it really doesn’t prove anything.)

    We haven’t ‘returned’ to the moon in THIRTY-FIVE years; not to mention that a NASA estimate in the 1980’s reportedly stated that it would take 20 years to get another man on the moon. WHA?! That doesn’t make sense, either, does it? To say that putting a man on the moon is easier than faking it really doesn’t make any sense to me.

    I won’t go into all the evidential reasons for me to doubt the official story. Suffice it to say, folks made fun of me for doubting the official JFK in Dallas story, yet the evidence coming out (see my previous post on Gerald Ford) shows that my doubts were well-founded.

    Either way, I am not willing to go to the mat over the veracity of the Moon Shot. I am not on a crusade to make others question it and, maybe, one day I will be convinced that it is true. But, for now, the ‘evidence’ just doesn’t convince me.

    And, just for the record, my feelings are not hurt nor am I angry with you. I just wanted to make that clear because, as we all know, written messages of this sort can often come across as terse and angry when they are not meant to be. So, rest assured–we’re still friends!

    Capricorn One link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capricorn_One

    ninepoundhammer

    August 14, 2008 at 7:08 am

  6. lol, i take no offence. you take my punching bag jabs with much aplomb.

    May of you arguments are no logically valid. such as, it has been 20 years and we haven’t been back. heck it has taken the Brits 25 yeas just to add a single extra landing strip to their airport. does that mean the other were a hoax because they were “claimed” to be in less time? Or the the idea of a conspiracy. The ones you mention had a short life span for secrecy. For the 9/11, it was a small religous group, and they truth is know about their plans. Heck it was even know before. That is different than claiming a goverment buracray has covered something up, air tight, for 40 years. that is beyond belief for me. There would have been a tell-all book by know. As for photos, even if those were faked them, they could be proven wrong now, which they haven’t.

    BTW, saw this on Fox and thought it was right up your alley 😉

    http://www.thechandlercompany.com/standardplanters.php?model=milano&style=A&shapes=,round,square

    Jackasic

    August 14, 2008 at 3:09 pm

  7. dang, post before spell check finished, hope i is ledgable 😀

    Jackasic

    August 14, 2008 at 3:09 pm

  8. holy cow I am way off, here is the real link:

    http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,403802,00.html

    Jackasic

    August 14, 2008 at 3:10 pm


Leave a Reply

