Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

Hunting and Pecking

with 2 comments

 

‘My hand has found like a nest the wealth of the peoples; and as one gathers eggs that have been forsaken, so I have gathered all the earth; and there was none that moved a wing or opened the mouth or chirped.’  ~ Isaiah 10:14

 

I am thirty-seven years old, yet it amazes me how quickly–and unexpectedly–I can be driven to childlike excitement.  To-night, for instance, I again felt as if I were seventeen as I played what is essentially a children’s game (softball) with my church buddies and cut up with the wives in the stands.  I tend to fall victim to Peter Pan Syndrome and forget my chronological reality without much difficulty.  However, the best moment of recaptured youth was waiting for me at home.  

There are moments when raising animals can be less than exciting; these times are usually early in the morning, during a stiff rain, or when I come home long after the sun has sunk and I am bone tired.  (To-night, for example.)  However, the Bible makes it clear that a man is to take his responsibilities towards his animals seriously–and I do.  At least, I make an honest effort.  So, I grabbed my flashlight and axe handle (our rooster has taken to bowing up and spurring us lately) and headed out to the chicken coop to make sure they had plenty of water for the evening.

As I slowly shone the light into all corners of the coop I noticed something in a hen box that seemed a bit out of place–an EGG!  In fact, I noticed a total of three as I checked the remaining boxes.  We weren’t expecting the chickens to begin laying for another three to four weeks, so finding the little brown treasures was quite the pleasant surprise.  As I collected the fruit of the young chickens’ labour to take to the family, I remembered back to when I was a small child and we lived on a farm outside of Lane City, Texas (which is itself about 2.5 miles from Nowhere); I loved getting up each morning to hunt for eggs in the chicken coop!  That was my favourite part of the day and, you could bet your boots that, if those hens failed to produce, I was going to be very upset and disappointed.

I hope my kids enjoy collecting eggs as much as I did and grow to have fond memories of their own.  As for us, we’re going to start filling cartons and getting ready to start satisfying our customers with some farm fresh eggs.  Are y’all ready?

Written by ninepoundhammer

August 25, 2008 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you bet your boots I m ready

    rachelchris

    August 26, 2008 at 4:28 am

  2. Didn’t you mean 2 minutes from the middle of nowhere? 😉

    Ashlee

    August 26, 2008 at 9:20 am


Leave a Reply

