Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

The Power Vested in Me

with one comment

I would like to address an issue I have faced several times recently which I don’t understand and has proven quite frustrating to no end:

My refusal to vote for any of the substandard candidates for President does not assign any–ANY–responsibility to me for one or the other winning.  For my Republican friends, I say again: The withholding of my vote is not–NOT–a vote for Obama.  I won’t be a party to his or any of the candidates’ acts once in office.

Here I stand.

 

When you elevate a bad man, you give to him a hundred-fold more power of example to corrupt your sons, and your neighbour’s sons by his evil acts. Those acts are a hundred-fold more conspicuous and more weighty to attract notice and imitation than if you had left him in his deserved obscurity. When you delegate your money, influence or civic power to a bad man, you make his wicked official acts and influences your own; he is your chosen agent, and acts for you, and be assured a jealous God will not forget to visit the people for the guilt thus contracted. ~ Rev. R. L. Dabney

 

 

  • ‘The United States military could stay in Iraq for “maybe a hundred years” and that “would be fine with me,” John McCain told two hundred or so people at a town hall meeting in Derry, New Hampshire.’
Written by ninepoundhammer

September 7, 2008 at 4:04 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I understand completely. I have been registered to vote since I was of age, but never have. Is it because I’m lazy or indifferent, not really (at least in this case). It is primarily because I have not heard of a candidate that I actually cared enough about to go out and vote for them. I don’t draw lines like republican or democrat. I simply listen to what they have to say and how they behave and leave it at that. If I don’t agree with it, I’m not going to vote for them; which would be me simply condoning (and boosting) their actions and beliefs.

    em

    September 7, 2008 at 6:13 pm


Leave a Reply

