Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

The Gospel According to Kris Kristofferson

leave a comment »

  

‘But to this day the LORD has not given you a heart to understand or eyes to see or ears to hear.’  ~ Deuteronomy 29:4

 

Often when I hear a song with even a remote or pseudo-theological aspect to it I try to explain to myself (or anyone nearby willing to listen) why what the singer is or is not singing is biblical (or not).  One such song is that listed below; I ruminated on it off and on for many years with the following conclusions (my thoughts/ references are in red).

 

Why Me, Lord? – by Kris Kristofferson

 

Why me Lord?

So then he has mercy on whomever he wills, and he hardens whomever he wills. (Romans 9:18)

What have I ever done

Because it pleases God to call (or not) whomever he will–‘This effectual call is of God’s free and special grace alone, not from anything at all foreseen in man…’ (Westminster Confession of Faith, 10.2)

To deserve even one

For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.  (Ephesians 2:8, 9)

Of the pleasures I’ve known?

[Jesus] I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.  (John 10:10)

 

Tell me Lord,

Be strong, and let your heart take courage, all you who wait for the LORD!  (Psalm 31:24)

What did I ever do

That was worth love from you

Or the kindness you’ve shown?

…though they were not yet born and had done nothing either good or bad—in order that God’s purpose of election might continue, not because of works but because of him who calls—(Romans 9:11)

 

Lord, help me Jesus, I’ve wasted it so

Help me Jesus I know what I am.

The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost.  (I Timothy 1:15)

Now that I know that I’ve needed you so

Help me Jesus, my soul’s in your hand.

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.  (John 3:16)

 

Tell me Lord,

If you think there’s a way

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.  (John 14:6)

I can try to repay

The Debtor’s Ethic: We will never get out of debt to grace. And so the thought of gratitude ethic as a kind of payback ethic is devastating to increasing the glory of God’s grace in our lives. We go deeper into debt in grace, not pay it off.  ~ John Piper

All I’ve taken from you

…What do you have that you did not receive?… (I Corinthians 4:7)

 

Maybe Lord,

I can show someone else

Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptising them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,  (Matthew 28:19)

What I’ve been through myself

for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,(Romans 3:23)

On my way back to you.

I will give them a heart to know that I am the LORD, and they shall be my people and I will be their God, for they shall return to me with their whole heart.  (Jeremiah 24:7)

 

 

 

  • Lesbian Feminist—and abortion zealot—Camille Paglia calls a spade a spade: ‘I have always frankly admitted that abortion is murder, the extermination of the powerless by the powerful which results in the annihilation of concrete individuals and not just clumps of insensate tissue.’

 

 

 

  • This [economic] crisis is largely external to the current scope of American politics, so it isn’t something that George Bush, John McCain or Barack Obama can even theoretically fix; it’s quite clear that they don’t even begin to understand what is happening, much less why, to say nothing of how they should respond. The only presidential candidate who understood the situation – he has condemned it for decades – was the candidate that the vast majority of the American people thought was too outlandish and too out of touch to support, Dr. Ron Paul.’

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Proper hermeneutics are very important. Otherwise, you get items like this from author Thomas Horn: ‘New experiments in genetic engineering could open the doors for the return of fearsome “giants” described in the Bible – the offspring of human women and fallen angels.’ [ed. – Riiiiight.]

 

The Largest Flag in the World (and Beautiful to Boot!)

  

Leave a Reply

