Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

I ♥ Jackson

with 7 comments

  

‘My son, fear thou the LORD and the king: and meddle not with them that are given to change.’  ~ Proverbs 24:21

 

Now that the frenetic pace of Lee Life has settled into the New Normal (a Rachel Anderson term) I felt it time to bring my loyal readers (both of you) up to date on the events of late.

In a nutshell: Jackson is here, we are ecstatic (what’s a synonym for ‘exhausted’?), and we now number four.  Ashlee and I can still play man-to-man until Number Three arrives (Lord willing) and we have to switch to a zone defence.  But for now–life is great.

For those who don’t know–and shame on you if you don’t!–Thomas Jackson Lee is named after General Thomas J. ‘Stonewall’ Jackson, a brave defender of his people and a mighty hero of the Reformed Christian faith.  (To be honest, of all of the general’s qualifications, I must believe that his office as Presbyterian deacon was near the top.)

After bugging his mama with labour pains for 7 1/2 hours, Jackson made his appearance at 5:04 a.m. on Monday, 03 November.  He weighed in at 8 pounds, 3 ounces and 20 inches long.  He was born on his maternal great-grandmother’s birthday, she having passed away just two weeks prior.

He is a content, quiet little baby thus far (but we expect that to change any time now!).  He is nursing brilliantly and loves to lay quietly and scan the room–at least as much as he can see of it.  I am a proud papa.  I love my little boy.

I cannot praise my wife enough.  Not only did she take care of herself during the pregnancy, which included not only eating right and resting but researching natural childbirth and attending classes; she was a champ of the first order during labour.  She was VERY impressive!  She breathed and relaxed during contractions so well that I had difficulty knowing when they were beginning and/ or ending.  In fact, the young nurse–who had never witnessed a natural birth and was very, very apprehensive about the whole thing–actually thank US at the end and was very appreciative for the experience.  Hopefully, she will be able to better assist couples in the future who elect to have a natural/ drug-free birth even better than she did us.  She was great.

But Ashlee was the champ.  I can’t praise her enough.  (How much is Awesome to the Nth power?)

Jackson is an enterprising lad, I must say.  I caught him putting something under the mattress of his co-sleeper in the middle of the night, so I took a look as he slept this morning.  It was a diary!  Here’s what he has written so far:  Day 1: Still tired from the move.  Day 2: Everybody talks to me like I’m an idiot.  (Thanks to Stephen Wright.)

Praise Almighty God.  We thank You for our son–for both of our lovely children–and ask your blessings on them as we seek to raise them to be a godly woman and man.  Please draw them to Yourself and work a saving faith in them at an early age.  AMEN.

 

dsc01164_0031_031 

 

 

(I’m ready for my close-up, Mr DeMille!)  Believe it or not, Ashlee had been in labour in excess of four hours at this point.  She didn’t appear quite so perky a short half-hour later, but for the time being, she was handling things like a seasoned veteran!

 

 

 

dsc01165_0030_030-2a

 

 

 

 

Left to Right: Exhausted, Relieved, Mad-As-A-Wet Hen.

 

 

 

 

dsc01193_0004_004

 

 

 

Big Sister beaming like a peacock!  Gracie Mae loves her little brother.  I just hope she doesn’t get overly concerned as my big sister did when I was a baby–she was certain I was hungry so she threw a pork chop in my crib.  (Mama’s got feeding under control, GM!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks to everyone for your prayers and well-wishes.  We welcome visitors; we just ask that you call us to let us know you’re coming and to make sure Ashlee and Jackson are up to it.  We don’t know where we would be without our families–and that includes our WPC family.

Written by ninepoundhammer

November 5, 2008 at 10:02 am

Posted in family

Tagged with

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Many congrat’s, Matt.

    Kyle

    November 5, 2008 at 10:55 am

  2. Many congratulations Mr. Lee! One more Lee in this world is cause to rejoice.

    When you say natural do you mean a non c-section without anithesics? Or is ther more to it? Note that I am not trying to downplay the feat of giving birth without anithesics, just curious as to what all was involved.

    Jacob

    November 5, 2008 at 11:32 am

  3. Enough!!! You guys and your cute baby are making me want another one! 🙂

    Congratulations!! We are thrilled for you all, and so thankful for Jackson’s safe arrival.

    And I love how you wore your softball shirt! Appropriate since he was born on softball day!

    Kierstyn

    November 5, 2008 at 12:21 pm

  4. @Jacob: You are correct: Ashlee gave birth without anesthetics of any kind. We used the Bradley Method (http://www.bradleybirth.com/) which included attending 12 classes and learning proper nutrition, exercise and other pre-natal care as well as the ways to manage pain for the mother and how the husband (coach) could assist through all of it. It was very effective and worthwhile and I highly recommend it to everyone.

    @Kierstyn: Of course I wore my Standards t-shirt–I had to represent!

    ninepoundhammer

    November 5, 2008 at 12:51 pm

  5. Could that picture of GM be any more beautiful!?! You can see the love and pride in her eyes, it made me well up with tears! I’m so happy for you guys and I can’t wait to meet Jackson! And yes, your wife is AWESOME!

    Christi

    November 5, 2008 at 4:23 pm

  6. I am so happy for you guys! I have been praying for y’all and little Jackson! Good job Ashlee.. you are an amazing woman and very brave! Praise God!

    Patricia Calderon

    November 5, 2008 at 8:13 pm

  7. Yea! Oh, how my heart loves the Lee family! Congratulations ya’ll! And I love that Kierstyn is only encouraged by the sight of Jackson. More Krajcas would be great too. Let’s hear it for being fruitful and multiplying! Wahoo Wahoo! (Can you tell I was a cheerleader?) 🙂

    hannah

    November 5, 2008 at 9:11 pm


Leave a Reply

