Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

Calling Caribou Barbie

with one comment

   

‘He was a mighty hunter before the LORD; that is why it is said, “Like Nimrod, a mighty hunter before the LORD.’  ~ Genesis 10:9

  

As Art Linkletter might say, children, out of the abundance of their ignorance (in the truest sense of the word) and their innocence (in the colloquial sense) often say the darndest things.  My daughter is no exception–believe me.  Since she has begun to talk she has had us in stitches more often than not.  (The remainder of the time is usually spent in a combination of instruction and…more instruction.)

While I was preparing her breakfast this morning as we readied ourselves for worship services at church, the young lass pointed at my shotgun (don’t worry, safety is a watchword with us!) and asked, ‘What is that, Daddy?’  I told her what it was and that I use it to hunt squirrels (without success yesterday).  The look on her face–and the rapid-fire nature of her response–betrayed the real motive behind her interrogatory: ‘Will you buy me a pink one, Daddy?’  (Favourite recipe: Instant Grin, just add Gracie Mae.)

I answered her in the affirmative between chuckles and convulsions.  ‘Sure thing, honey!  I’ll buy you a pink shotgun when you are older and you can go squirrel hunting with me.’ (Tee-hee.  Ha-ha.)

Well, just for giggles I looked.  What to guess what I found?

Written by ninepoundhammer

November 16, 2008 at 4:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gracie Mae, you are probably one of the coolest girls I know!

    Kierstyn

    November 16, 2008 at 10:12 pm


Leave a Reply

