Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

X-Mas Redux

with one comment

    

‘For he thought, “I will pacify him with these gifts I am sending on ahead; later, when I see him, perhaps he will receive me.”‘ ~ Genesis 32:20b

After having posted about the crowding out of Christ-mas hymns by X-mas pop hits (see below), I was hoisted by my own petard later that evening.  My dad, stepmom, younger brothers and sisters, and two exchange students blew into town to visit and, as one might expect, they had presents for Gracie Mae and Jackson in tow.  Perhaps the earlier blogging had planted the seed but the lifelike (a.k.a. eerily real) baby doll given to GM certainly provided the increase and I have, thus, been unable to get an X-mas pop hit that I absolutely LOVED as a child out of my head since.  This verse in particular is the culprit:

Said Santa to the girl child

‘What would please you most to get?’

‘A little baby doll that can cry, sleep, drink, and wet!’

And then away went Rudolph whizzin’ like a Sabre jet.

 

 

Run, Run, Rudolph

Written by ninepoundhammer

December 23, 2008 at 2:11 pm

Posted in Music

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ha, good point. Well I have decided to wait and see how long we stay in an area with just Lake Bryan nearby.

    Trey

    December 23, 2008 at 6:07 pm


Leave a Reply

