Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

Game Time!

with 7 comments

    

‘Jacob said to his father, “I am Esau your firstborn. I have done as you told me; now sit up and eat of my game, that your soul may bless me.”‘  ~ Genesis 27:19

My neck had not been feeling sufficiently red for my taste of late so, in an effort to eradicate the remaining corruption within me–my City Boyness–I decided it was time to employ a couple of the squirrels I had slumbering in my freezer: Yee-haw!  Squirrel Stew!

Sure, squirrels are members of the rodent family–but they sure are tasty.  (I can’t decide which is more fun–shooting them or eating them!)  Here’s how we made a steaming hot pot of delicious tree rat:

  1. Shoot two squirrels.
  2. Skin and gut said squirrels.
  3. Boil them until the meat comes off the bones.  (If using an older squirrel, soak the meat in Sprite or beer beforehand to tenderise it just right.)
  4. Saute  some chopped celery, onions, peas, and carrots and place them in the stock.
  5. Cook some rice (white or brown, whichever you prefer) and add to the other ingredients in the stock.  Use as much (or little) rice as suits you.
  6. Put the squirrel meat back in the stock (with a bit to thyme and other stew spices you may wish to use) and stir until well-heated.
  7. Serve with cornbread.
  8. Chew.  Smile.  Chew.  Smile…

Ashlee has been pleasantly surprised at how good squirrel is when properly prepared and, thankfully, Gracie Mae thinks it is just dandy, too.  Just keep this in mind: There are no preservatives in squirrel–but you may chomp down on a BB or two.

Written by ninepoundhammer

January 5, 2009 at 1:20 pm

Posted in family

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. never tried tree rat, may be to cityfied for it. Do like me some corn bread though.

    Jackasic

    January 5, 2009 at 1:31 pm

  2. Just curious about how you determine the age of the squirrel.

    Kyle

    January 5, 2009 at 2:18 pm

  3. @Kyle: I usually check their tiny little driver’s license before I skin them. (Getting it out of their tiny billfold takes some doing, though!) Actually, you can tell by their size.

    @Brandon: Don’t knock it ’til you try it. And, yes, cornbread sure ‘nough tastes good!

    ninepoundhammer

    January 5, 2009 at 2:46 pm

  4. Your wife is perfect for you! Only a perfectly suited mate would try (and make) tree rat stew!

    Kierstyn

    January 5, 2009 at 3:22 pm

  5. I’m never against trying something new, but I think I’d want to be careful of any “mystery” meat at your house. You never know what y’all will try next! 😉

    Christi

    January 5, 2009 at 4:05 pm

  6. my dad almost always cooked it with saurkraut which just gave me another reason not to like it. Anne Michal likes it and maybe he other girls.

    rachelchris

    January 5, 2009 at 8:25 pm

  7. Oh wow. I think you have officially eradicated all of your inner corruption with a meal such as that. I will cling to my depravity and the grace of God.

    Trey

    January 6, 2009 at 12:04 pm


Leave a Reply

