Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

The Future Is Now

leave a comment »

    

‘Let this be written for a future generation, that a people not yet created may praise the LORD’  ~ Psalm 102:18

I remember reading an account several years ago (sadly, I cannot recall where nor have I retained a copy of the narrative) about a young man who was researching his family history.  During his journey into the past, he discovered a diary that had been kept by his great-great grandfather, a (if I remember correctly) Presbyterian  minister in Illinois.

The man had been an atheist for most of his life but had been converted by the irresistible grace of God while he was still relatively young.  What struck him the most was an entry in his ancestor’s diary in which he mentioned that he regularly prayed for his family–those whom God had entrusted to his care as he wrote as well as those who were yet to be born.  He prayed, he wrote, that his progeny that would follow him decades and centuries later would know and worship the one true God. 

The family researcher was taken aback that his great-great-grandfather had so earnestly prayed for him–a full century before he was to be born!  It struck him that that prayer of old just might have been the means by which God completed his election unto salvation.  He gave thanks to God for his ancestor and for his ancestor’s anticipatory love for him.

I pray for my own children daily and, recently, I was (providentially) reminded of the anecdote related above and have been induced to pray for the generations that (Lord willing) will count me among their line many days after I am gone.  Not only do I pray for them, that God will call them to a saving faith and use them to extend His kingdom but I pray that I may live so that they may have reason to thank God for me, as well.

Has it ever occured to you to pray for your great-great grandchildren’s spiritual well-being?

Written by ninepoundhammer

February 8, 2009 at 10:17 pm

Posted in Christian Living

Leave a Reply

