Metallic Pea

Frustrating People Since 1971.

Britches Full of Hay

with 2 comments

‘Even a child makes himself known by his acts, by whether his conduct is pure and upright.’  ~ Proverbs 20:11

 

[Mea Culpa: Jon, I realise this is a long post but I just can’t help myself!]

 

Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you: The English Shin Kicking Championships

 

 

 

  • If my chickens will only lay eggs like this, I could retire in no time flat!

 

 

 

  • The Royal Bank of Scotland has advised clients to brace for a full-fledged crash in global stock and credit markets over the next three months as inflation paralyses the major central banks.’

 

 

 

  • Did you hear the one about the man who goes to buy a car in Moscow, pays for it, and is told by the salesman that he can collect it on a particular date in 10 years’ time. The buyer thinks for a moment and then asks: ‘Morning or afternoon?’ The salesman, astonished by the question, asks: ‘What difference does it make?’ And the buyer answers: ‘Well, the plumber is coming in the morning.’

 

 

 

  • A ‘RAND Corp. study, “Invisible Wounds of War — Psychological and Cognitive Injuries, Their Consequences, and Services to Assist Recovery,” justifies a tenfold jump in the U.S. casualty count versus the figure of 33,000 American dead and wounded used by the Pentagon.’

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • They say that the Internet was invented (or at least, conceived) in 1934. Yet, Al Gore was not born until 1948. I’m confused.

 

 

 

  • Will the Church stand in the breach and yell ‘HALT!’? Or, as in the past, will she allow the State to dictate how we shall practise our faith?  Sooner or later we will all be faced with a choice. We will be forced to stand and be counted.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • It’s pretty rapidly running out of gas and it just seems like every day more and more people are coming out with the fact that [global warming is] pretty much a hoax. And these are Ph.D climatologists that are pretty much saying what I said all along.’

 

 

 

  • I remember my daddy trying the cloth diaper route years ago. (OK, I actually remember my daddy telling me about it.) It has its benefits but drawbacks are part of the deal, too. However, if you are so inclined, here is how to make your own.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Iranian scientists claim breakthroughs in nanotechnology, biological researchers are pushing the boundaries of stem cell research and the country’s car industry produces more cars than anywhere else in the region.’

 

 

 

  • Good news for those who love war and can’t get enough of it—the GWOT© is coming to Pakistan!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Matt, I often go to write a comment on your blog and then by the end of the post I forget what I was going to say, and then the baby starts crying or something. (Not because of your blog, just because!)
    Anyway, we are big fans with small minds!!

    Jamison

    June 20, 2008 at 6:14 am

  2. I’m glad you’re here! I’ve grown weary of having so many small fans with big minds.

    ninepoundhammer

    June 20, 2008 at 7:31 am


Leave a comment